iconAll about the 4C's of gemstones

In the world of gemstones and diamonds, there is a great deal of emphasis placed on the 4 C’s – Cut, Clarity, Color and Carat weight. However, you may not have the time to research everything. So, this article will help you in understanding what these are.

The cut of a gemstone is something that gives the gemstone its beauty and brilliance.  There is no ideal cut for any gemstone but the best cut is that which produces the maximum brilliance of the stone. According to experts there are 10 common ways of cutting gemstones. The most common cut for diamonds is the round brilliant diamond, which is the well-known pentagon-shaped diamond that is circular when looked at from the top.

Gemstone Cuts

gemstones Cuts Shapes

The cut of a gemstone can affect price as the more a gemstone flashes, the higher its price will be. Since ages the cut has been the mark to show the proficiency of the cutter and polisher. If the cutter is more experienced, he will be able to remove less of the stone and still create a gemstone that catches the eye immediately. There are ten popular gemstone cuts available in the market and round, marquise, pear, oval, trillion, princess, emerald, cushion, asscher and heart are the names of these common cuts.

Gem Stone Clarity


The Clarity of a gemstone refers to the stone’s purity, but also how easily it can be seen through. This is the most important factor when deciding on a diamond’s price because it takes any inclusions, or flaws, account. The inclusions are usually invisible to the naked eye, but generally are clouded areas that prevent the examiner from being able to see through the stone or transparency. Most of the gemstones be it Ruby, Emerald, Tanzanite and Sapphire and even diamonds have some inclusions in them, so while they affect the final price and grade of the gem, the majority of them do not have much influence on the price unless they can be seen easily.

Gemstone Colors


Color refers to the degree of coloration inside of a gem. Generally diamond color is white, although yellow and brown tints are fairly common. Diamond color grades start at D and go to Z. However, any diamond that has a deeper color than Z is called “Fancy Colored” and has a different grading scale. The color only affects the diamond price in that those which have deep color or no color at all are considered to be much rarer and carry higher price. Similarly, Sapphire is blue in color, ruby is red, Emerald is green while Tanzanite is purple and generally highest values go to gems with pure hues and strong rich colors.

Gem Stone Carats


The Carat weight refers to the actual weight of the gem. Generally the heavier the gem more will be its value unless a smaller stone was cut and polished by a more experienced cutter. Carat, according to the jewelry experts, is a metric unit of weight used in the gemstone industry to describe how much a gemstone weighs. Technically, there are five carats in one gram. As the larger gemstones are always rarer and per-carat prices will usually be more than equivalent to similar stones in a smaller size. But remember that carat weights are not proportional to the size but depends on the density of the gem. The density of gems varies from very light stones like opal to especially heavy stones like zircon.